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DRAFT HB 365 Implementation Rules 

 

 

 NEW RULE I  DEFINITIONS  For the purposes of this [chapter/part/sub-part], the 

following definitions apply: 

 (1)  "Advisory council" means the underground facility protection advisory council 

provided for by 69-4-520, MCA. 

 (2)  "Call center" means a notification center, as defined in 60-4-501, MCA, that 

serves a designated geographical region of Montana for purposes of allowing 

excavators to obtain the location of underground facilities in the location where an 

excavation is proposed to occur.  A call center is also known as a "call before you dig" 

center, or an "811" center. 

 (3)  "Department" means the department of labor and industry, as provided by 

69-4-501, MCA. 

 (4)  "Excavator" has the same meaning as provided by 69-4-501, MCA. 

 (5)  "Incident" has the same meaning as provided by 69-4-501, MCA. 

 (6)  "Underground facility owner" has the same meaning as provided by 69-4-

501, MCA. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-501, MCA. 

 

 NEW RULE II  COLLECTION OF INCIDENT REPORTS  (1)  A call center must 

submit an incident report to the department within 30 days of learning of an incident. 

 (2)  The department shall accept incident reports submitted by a call center: 

 (a)  on a department-approved reporting form: 

 (i)   via U.S. Mail to Underground Facility Protection Program, PO Box 200517, 

Helena, MT  59620-0517; or 

 (ii)  via fax to 406.841.2050; or 

 (b)  electronically,  

 (i)  via e-mail to buildingcodes@mt.gov; or 

 (ii)  via the internet to the department's website at http:\\ebiz.mt.gov. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-529, MCA. 

 

 NEW RULE III  ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION OF CIVIL PENALTIES 

 (1)  In order to determine when the last 100 locate requests were made, or the 

number of locate requests made in the past 12 months, the department shall contact 

each call center serving Montana to obtain that information.  Each call center shall 

provide the requested information within seven days of the department's request. 

 (2)  In order to timely issue civil penalties as required by 69-4-524 and 69-4-525, 

MCA, if both call centers to not respond within 10 days of a request, the department 
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may issue a civil penalty based solely on the number of locate requests identified by the 

call center in which the event or incident occurred. 

 (a)  For good cause shown, a party to whom a civil penalty has been issued 

pursuant to subsection (2) may seek a recalculation of the penalty based on information 

received from both call centers. 

 (b)  The department may withdraw a civil penalty if it is timely notified by the 

underground facility owner, pursuant to 69-4-529, MCA, the civil penalty is not required. 

 (3)  A party aggrieved by the imposition of a civil penalty may contest the penalty 

as provided for in [NEW RULE VI]. 

 (4)  A civil penalty that has not been contested and which remains unpaid for 

more than 75 days after it was issued may be referred by the department for collection 

of the debt. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-524, 69-4-525, 69-4-529, 69-4-530, MCA. 

 

 NEW RULE IV  COLLECTION OF FINES  (1)  The department shall, as required 

by 69-4-529, MCA, assess a fine of $100 on an underground facility owner for each 

report the underground facility owner fails to timely file. 

 (2)  A party aggrieved by the imposition of a fine may contest the fine as provided 

for in [NEW RULE VI]. 

 (3)  A fine that has not been contested and which remains unpaid for more than 

75 days after it was issued may be referred by the department for collection of the debt. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-529, MCA. 

 

 NEW RULE V  COLLECTION OF ANNUAL FEES  (1)  In order to collect the 

annual fees from underground facility owners, the department may, by contract or other 

agreement, have the annual billing performed by the call centers. 

 (2)  An underground facility owner may receive a bill from any call center from 

which the underground facility owner has received locate requests. 

 (3)  The annual fees must be paid by the underground facility owner within 30 

days of the date of a bill for those fees. 

 (4)  Annual fees which remain unpaid for more than 90 days after billing may be 

referred by the department for collection of the debt. 

option:[(i)  The department, in its sole discretion, may allow an underground facility 

owner that is billed an annual fee of less than [$xxx] to defer the payment of the annual 

fees until the following year.  An underground facility owner whose annual fee payment 

is deferred will not be referred to collection during the period of deferral. 

 (ii)  The department may not allow a deferral of payment of annual fees more 

than once every two years.] 
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 (5)  The amount of the annual fee to be paid by an underground facility owner is 

$0.10 per outgoing locate request made by each call center. 

  

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-530, MCA. 

 

 NEW RULE VI  DISPUTES REGARDING PENALTIES AND FINES –    

MEDIATION  (1)  A party that timely disputes a civil penalty or fine may, after first 

satisfying the mediation requirements of this rule, have a contested case with the 

department.  The contested case must be held in accordance with the Montana 

Administrative Procedure Act, and will be conducted by the department's office of 

administrative hearings. 

 (2)  The underground facility protection advisory council shall act as the mediator 

of disputed civil penalties or fines.  The mediator shall attempt to bring the parties to 

mutually acceptable resolution of the dispute. 

 (3)  Mediation is a private, mandatory, informal, and non-binding proceeding.   

Statements made during the mediation process, and the recommendations of the 

mediator, are not admissible in any other proceeding, and may not be offered in 

evidence in any other proceeding. 

 (4)   The department shall promptly notify the facility protection advisory council 

of disputes arising under 69-4-524, 69-4-525, or 69-4-529.  The mediation must be 

conducted within 45 days of the council being notified. 

 (5)  Mediation may be conducted by a majority of the council, or it may be 

delegated by the council to a subset of the council to act as the mediator. 

 (6)  Mediation is conducted by telephone, unless the parties and the mediatory 

agree to in-person mediation, and the parties waive the 45 day requirement. 

 (7)  The mediator shall issue a written report and recommendation to the parties 

within 15 days of the mediation. 

 (8)  If the parties agree to a resolution of their dispute during mediation or within 

20 days after the report and recommendation is sent to the parties, the department shall 

notify the council that the matter has been resolved. 

 (9)  If the party that disputes the civil penalty or fine does not agree to resolve the 

matter, it must notify the department within 20 days of the mediation report and 

recommendation being issued that the department must schedule a contested case. 

 (10)  Failure of a party to timely notify the department to schedule a contested 

case acts as waiver of the right to a contested case. 

 (11)  Mediation conducted under this rule may be guided by, but is not bound by, 

the mediation procedures and rules applicable to workers' compensation matters, 

pursuant to Title 39, chapter 71, part 24, MCA, and ARM Title 24, chapter 28. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA 

IMP:     69-4-526, 69-4-529, MCA 
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 NEW RULE VII  TRAINING AND EDUCATIONAL GRANTS   (1)  A call center 

that has received locate requests during the prior calendar year may apply for a training 

and educational grant. 

 (2)  A grant application must be in writing:  

 (a)  and must address the following topics: 

 (i)  the name of applicant; 

 (ii)  the number of locate requests received by the applicant in the prior calendar 

year; 

 (iii)  a description of each specific educational or training programs that the 

applicant proposes to conduct; 

 (iv)  the estimated cost or budget for each program identified in subsection (c); 

and 

 (v)  a description of the audience each proposed program plans to target; and 

 (b)  may provide such other information relevant to the applicant's existing or 

proposed programs, and should include an explanation of how the proposed programs 

will promote public safety with regards to underground facilities. 

 (3)  A call center may submit only one grant application per year.  The 

department will accept and review grant applications every six months, starting January 

1, 2019.    

 (4)  Grants are awarded annually on state fiscal year basis.  The amount 

available for distribution is dependent upon the balance in the grant account that exists 

on January 1 of the year in which the application is made. 

 (5)  Grants will be awarded to call centers on an equitable basis, based upon the 

number of locate requests made in the prior year to all applicants.  The equitable 

allocation may be affected by projected changes in the expected number of locate 

requests likely to occur during the next year.  

 (6)  The department shall consult with the advisory council in determining how to 

distribute available grant funding, in light of the applications received.  In making the 

grant distribution, the department will consider: 

 (a)  whether the applicant has timely made reports as required by [NEW RULE 

VIII]; 

 (b)  the apparent effectiveness of the applicant's previous and existing 

educational and training programs, as judged by the frequency of incidents reported by 

the call center versus the number of locate requests made; 

 (c)  whether the proposed programs integrate or coordinate with similar programs 

operated or proposed by other applicants; 

 (d)  any trends or patterns of excavation activity that tend to show the need for a 

geographically targeted program to reach excavators and the public; and 

 (e)  any other factors that the call center deems relevant to the grant application. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-528, MCA. 
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 NEW RULE VIII  REPORTS BY GRANT RECIPIENTS  (1)  The department will 

provide each grant recipient a report form, which may be electronic, upon which the 

gran recipient shall report: 

 (a)  the amount of the actual expenditures of the grant funds; 

 (b)  the details of what the expenditures were made, such as the number of signs 

printed, the number of public service announcements produced, or the type and number 

of advertisements purchased; and 

 (c)  the perceived effectiveness of the materials or projects funded via the grant. 

 (2)  The grant recipient is encouraged, but not required, to provide information to 

the department regarding: 

 (a)  any problems encountered in conducting the grant-funded program; 

 (b)  any recommendations on how to improve the grant-making process or 

programs implemented under a grant; 

 (c)  any suggestions as how to improve or better promote the "call before you 

dig" program; and 

 (d)  any suggestions as how to improve or better provide public information 

regarding underground facilities. 

 (3)  The report must be sent to the department [within 12 months of the date the 

grant was awarded]. 

 

AUTH:  69-4-522, MCA. 

IMP:   69-4-522, 69-4-528, MCA. 
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Fee impact analysis:  Based on information provided by the proponents of HB 365, the 

department estimates that annual fees charged pursuant to NEW RULE V, at $0.10 per 

"locate" request, will total approximately $60,000 to $66,000 per year.  The annual fees 

will fund the department's operation and administration of the underground facility 

program.   

 

The department is unable to estimate the annual income arising from civil penalties 

issued pursuant to NEW RULE III.  There is no existing database upon which project 

the number of instances that will give rise to a civil penalty, nor to estimate the amount 

of the penalties, which escalate with subsequent incidents.  The department anticipates 

that the majority of civil penalties will be incurred by excavators, with a lesser amount 

from underground facility owners.  The department has no basis upon which to estimate 

the number of persons who may qualify as an "excavator" and who potentially subject to 

a civil penalty.  The department, based on information provided by the proponents of HB 

365, estimates that there are approximately 700 entities that are the owner of 

underground facilities.  Likewise, there is no basis upon which to estimate the amount 

that is likely to generated from fines levied pursuant to NEW RULE IV.  Fines are levied 

only against underground facility owners.  The department notes that the income from 

all civil penalties and fines must be paid out annually as grants to call centers operating 

in Montana, as provided by statute.   Presently, there are two call centers operating in 

Montana. 

  


