According to Montana statutes all weighing or measuring devices used commercially in the State of Montana must purchase an annual license from the Building Codes Bureau. License fees are commensurate with the costs associated to test the device.
Regarding scales, the term "used commercially," means those scales that are used to determine the weight of a commodity upon which the selling price is based. Examples of these types of scales would include; front-end scales found in grocery stores, pre-packaging scales used to label meat or deli products, and scales used to weigh nails or screws in hardware stores. Scales not considered "commercial" include those used to weigh components or ingredients in the manufacturing process, scales used for portion control in sandwich shops or restaurants and scales used in the health care industry.
Measuring device fees are per meter, not number of hoses, nozzles, or cabinets. Because the number of meters used in each Multiple Product Dispenser (MPD) cabinet to measure product varies among manufactures, you may want to consult with the installer to determine the correct number of meters that must be licensed, or you can contact Weights & Measures and we will make an on-site visit to help you determine the number of meters.
Current license fees (2007) are as follows:
Weighing devices or scales: Manufactures listed capacity Cost per device CURRENT (2007) AFTER JULY 1, 2013 0 - 499 pounds $16.00 $ 20.00 500 - 1,999 pounds $26.00 $ 33.00 2,000 - 7,999 pounds $51.00 $ 64.00 8,000 - 60,000 pounds $130.00 $165.00 over 60,000 pounds $225.00 $280.00 Measuring devices or meters: Manufacturers rated capacity Cost per device CURRENT (Changes and effective date to be announced) Less than 20 gallons per minute $21.00 --------------- 21 - 130 gallons per minute $70.00 --------------- Greater than 130 gallons per minute $83.00 --------------- All LPG (propane) meters $102.00 ---------------
The Department of Revenue's One-Stop Business Licensing program issues all licenses for the Weights & Measures Bureau. [Application]
For additional information concerning licensing your commercial devices please contact the Weights & Measures Bureau at (406) 443-8065 or email our licensing specialist