Certified City, County and Town Programs

The local legislative body of a city, county or town may adopt a building code by ordinance to apply to the city, county or town jurisdictional area. A city, county or town building code may include only codes adopted by the Building Codes Bureau.

A city, county or town may not enforce a building code unless the code enforcement program has been certified by the Building Codes Bureau as in compliance with applicable statutes and rules; the current adopted code, a current list of fees to be imposed and a current plan for enforcement of the code have been filed and approved by the Bureau; and all inspectors inspecting or approving any installations, which if accomplished commercially require state licensure, must be properly and currently state-licensed journeyman in that craft or occupation or be certified by a national recognized entity for testing and certification of inspectors that is approved by the Bureau before being permitted to inspect or approve any installation.

As part of the continuing certification of a city, county or town, certain annual requirements must be met including submittal of annual reports to the Building Codes Bureau and, when certain criteria are met, submittal of independent audits. Annual reporting requirements can be found in ARM 24.301.207 (1) through (4).

The requirements for an independent audit can be found in ARM 24.301.208 (1). This rule identifies the criteria for any certified city, county or town which, when met, require an independent fiscal audit to be performed and submitted to the Certified Local Government Program.  Audits are required to be performed per the guidelines of agreed upon procedures as established by the Building Codes Bureau. The following link provides a copy of the revised current agreed upon procedures.

Agreed Upon Procedures


2021 Education Fund Reporting Forms:

Annual Remittance Formfor jurisdictions with annual revenue under $100,000

1st Semi Annual Remittance2nd Semi Annual Remittance Formfor jurisdictions with $100,000 or more in annual revenue.

Questions regarding certification procedures and requirements e-mail buildingcodes@mt.gov or call (406) 841-2056

Below is a list of all certified local government building code jurisdictions and certified building code inspectors:

Please click Printable Version for a copy of the list below

  • All other areas are under the jurisdiction of the State Building Codes Bureau

    List of certified jurisdictions
    Belgrade B, P, E, M Jason Karp  388-3760 City Limits 
    Billings B, P(M/G) E, M, SP Jessica Iverson 657-8270 City Limits
    Bozeman B, P, E, M, SP Ben Abbey 582-2375 City Limits
    Butte-Silver Bow B, P, M Rusty Christensen 497-6210 County
    Choteau Kyle Harlan 466-2510 City Limits
    Colstrip B* (residential only) Russell Murphy  853-5084 City Limits 
    Columbia Falls B, P, E, M Tad Lisowski 892-4388 City Limits
    Conrad B Kyle Harlan 788-3398 City Limits
    Cutbank B James Yeagley 873-5526 City Limits
    Darby B, P, M, E, SP Tim Netzley 961-2423 City Limits
    Deer Lodge - County B* (residential only) John Markin 563-4010 County
    Deer Lodge - City B* (residential only) Dan Green 846-3649 City Limits
    East Helena B Craig Jenneskins 227-5321 City Limits
    Forsyth B* (residential only) Ronald Ball 346-2521 City Limits
    Glasgow B, M  Robert Kompel 228-2476  City Limits
    Great Falls B, P(M/G) E, M Bruce Haman 455-8530 City Limits
    Hamilton B, P, M, E, SP Tim Netzley 880-5832 City Limits 
    Hardin B* (residential only) Joseph Connolly 665-9264 City Limits
    Havre B David Peterson 265-4941 City Limits
    Helena B, P, E, M Kimberley Mack 447-8438 City Limits
    Kalispell B, P, M, E, SP Jeff Clawson  758-7730 City Limits 
    Laurel B Karen Courtney 628-4796 City Limits 
    Lewistown B Holy Phelps 535-1776 City Limits  
    Libby B Ron Higgins 293-2731 City Limits
    Livingston B Jim Woodhull  222-0083 City Limits
    Manhattan B, M Dave Rowell 284-3235 City Limits
    Miles City B, SP Russell Murphy 874-8611 City Limits 
    Missoula City B, P(M/G) E, M Aaron Bowman 552-6630 City Limits
    Missoula County B, P, E, M, SP Steve Hutchings 258-3701 County 
    Polson B, P, E, M Gordon West 883-8216 City Limits 
    Pondera County Kyle Harlan 788-3398 County
    Red Lodge B Tim Swansborough 446-1606 City Limits 
    Richland County B Kyle Harlan 788-3398 County, except Sidney
    Ronan B Dan Miller 676-4231 City Limits
    Shelby B Rob Tasker 434-5564 City Limits
    Sidney B Kale Rasmussen 480-9113 City Limits
    Stevensville B, P, E, M, SP Tim Netzkey 880-5832 City Limits   
    Toole County B Kyle Harlan 424-8310 County
    Townsend B James Schauber 431-8319 City Limits
    Troy B Patrick McFadden 360-632-9381 City Limits
    West Yellowstone B* (residential only) Kyle Tanner 602-4897 City Limits 
    Whitefish B, P, E, M, W Tad Lisowski 863-2410 City Limits 
    Wolfpoint B Teaguean Knudsen 654-4616 City Limits 

    Key: B= Building, P = Plumbing, M/G = Medical Gas, E = Electrical, M = Mechanical, SP = Pool,       W = WUI

     UPDATED 9/13/2021

    Annual Educational Fund Payment

    Semi-Annual 1st Half Educational Fund Payment

    Semi-Annual 2nd Half Educational Fund Payment

Back To Top